Teacher of the Year Recognition

The Dyer County Board of Education convened Tuesday evening at the Milton Magee Auditorium at 7 p.m. Board members reviewed budget amendments, policies under first and second reading, and recognized teachers of the year.

All board members were present with the exception of John David Caldwell.

The meeting began with Dyer County Schools Teachers of the Year being recognized. Each educator was presented a certificate by board chairman Dr. Jeremy Gatlin. Teachers of the Year included Blair McDowell (Fifth Consolidated), Meredith McMackins (Finley Elementary), Lori McAllister (Holice Powell), Lara Wooten (Newbern Elementary), Jason Stewart (Northview), Tucker Stroup (Three Oaks), Michelle King (DCHS), Leigh Wilkerson (DCHS), and Lucia Martinez (DCHS).

Director of Schools Cheryl Mathis also noted McMackins, McDowell, and King were named District Teachers of the Year for Pre-K-4, 5th-8th, and 9th-12th, respectively.